Customer Reviews

The name ‘Dream Guitar Services’ came about because of the often repeated words:

“It plays like a dream since you set it up…”

Some comments from happy customers

John Stack, Orville Gibson Les Paul Standard
August 23rd 2020

Pete the guitar plays and sounds fantastic. Better than it’s ever been. Thanks. Also it stays in tune now the strings slide in the nut slots.

John Stack, Orville Gibson Les Paul Standard
Mark Refoy – Spiritualized, Slipstream, Pet Shop Boys
August 7th 2020

My Rickenbacker 360 12 string, which I’ve had from new, is the best it’s ever played and sounded since Peter Worked on it.

Mark Refoy – Spiritualized, Slipstream, Pet Shop Boys
Dez Rhodes, Epiphone SG Toni Iommi
August 4th 2020

Hi Peter, just a quick message to say that I am super happy with the work on my Guitar. Awesome job, sounds and plays better than it ever has. Will be in touch soon about some more work on my other guitars. Thank you sooo much, Dez.

Dez Rhodes, Epiphone SG Toni Iommi
Kit Felgate, Epiphone Les Paul VE
July 8th 2020

Hi Peter, many thanks again, Guitar sounds miles better and seems easier to play – less finger pressure on strings to get them to play out.

Kit Felgate, Epiphone Les Paul VE
June 18th 2020

Hi Peter, just a quick thank you, my guitar now plays beautifully, your work and experience is much appreciated, Cheers, Pete.

Pete Ayre, Yamaha FG 380 Acoustic
Mike Stewart
June 12th 2020

BTW the Telecaster is perfect now – thank you for what you did.

Mike Stewart
Gordon Foley, 1962 Reissue Fender Stratocaster (Dismantle, re-finish & rebuild)
June 7th 2020

Hey Pete I just wanted to thank you for completing a magnificent job on my Strat. I could not be happier with the finish and playability of this guitar Totally awesome! I mean every word. It really does play like a dream. The guitar sounds incredible through my amp.

Gordon Foley, 1962 Reissue Fender Stratocaster (Dismantle, re-finish & rebuild)
Darren J. Pethers, Les Paul Special
June 6th 2020

Hi Pete, thanks so much for setting up my guitar, it sounds amazing, I have hardly put it down. Lovely job. All the best, Daren.

Darren J. Pethers, Les Paul Special
Alan Parker, HB Custom Line & ESP. LTD.TE-200
March 28th 2020

Good Morning Peter, Just a quick follow up to once again thank you for the work you carried out on two of my guitars. I hope that you are all safe and well in these strange times and keeping busy. Both guitars have really settled in well and the acoustic just seems to get better each day and plays like a dream, I knew it had potential, it just needed your touch. I recorded a resonance time length of 23 seconds, I think that must be a world record ( maybe ), and far better than any electronic reverb.

Alan Parker, HB Custom Line & ESP. LTD.TE-200
Steve Watt, Stratocaster Copy
March 1st 2020

Hi Pete, just to let you know, very happy with my strat now. So much easier to play now and sounds great. Sustain goes for ever which is fantastic.

Steve Watt, Stratocaster Copy
Ant Saddington, Fender Strat, ‘Original 60s Series’
February 11th 2020

You’ve done wonders with the strat mate, just had a good session on it and it feels amazing, thanks again.

Ant Saddington, Fender Strat, ‘Original 60s Series’
Bob DeBanke, Squier Stratocaster
December 5th 2019

Hi Peter, the guitar plays like a dream.

Bob DeBanke, Squier Stratocaster
Carl, Chinese Gibson Les Paul
December 2019

Wow… I’ve just finished playing the Chinese Gibson. Thank you so much Peter! Such a massive improvement!

Carl, Chinese Gibson Les Paul
Harry Clarke, Custom Build, ‘Telemaster’ Shape body
December 1st 2019

Hello, used the guitar last night, it was tremendous you’ve done an excellent job. Thank you very much, Harry.

Harry Clarke, Custom Build, ‘Telemaster’ Shape body
Shane Stevens, Baqus Les Paul. Complete overhaul: refret, full set up, bridge stud flanges set flush, new neck binding, neck re-spray

Hello Pete you Genius Guitar Type Technitian Six String Sorcerer Gibson God Fender Faith-healer Friend of all things Stringed lol (smiley). Been playing the Baqus Les Paul all day – Class job Sir, plays wonderful. Very Happy!

Shane Stevens, Baqus Les Paul. Complete overhaul: refret, full set up, bridge stud flanges set flush, new neck binding, neck re-spray
Benjamin Brown, Ibanez RG

I’m not sure what wizardry these guys have mastererd, but they could make a spongebob guitar play like a 62 Strat… the work carried out on my Ibanez is 2nd to none and it feels like a guitar that’s infinitely more expensive than its list price.

Benjamin Brown, Ibanez RG
Benjamin Brown, Ibanez RG

Thank Jim for me! He has done an absolutely stellar job!

Benjamin Brown, Ibanez RG
Benjamin Brown, Ibanez RG

I’m relatively competant but nothing beats years of experience for sure! You’ve both done a fantastic job of my guitar. Do you have a Facebook page in which I can leave a review? Or could I write a review for website?

Benjamin Brown, Ibanez RG
Benjamin Brown, Ibanez RG

Been playing guitar almost non stop since I’ve got it back… feels and sounds absolutely amazing! Thank you so much. My only niggle is that I chose strings with too light a gauge 🙂 need 56 or 60’s.

Benjamin Brown, Ibanez RG
Gary Bunce, Epiphone Hummingbird (14/7/18)

Thank you so much Pete, the Hummingbird is an absolute dream to play.

Gary Bunce, Epiphone Hummingbird (14/7/18)
Gareth Evans, 1989 Stratocaster: (12/7/18)

Peter, that Strat plays and sounds just beautiful. Thank you both!

Gareth Evans, 1989 Stratocaster: (12/7/18)
Stephen Lofthouse, PRS Bernie Marsden x2 (29/6/18)

Hi Peter, great job on both guitars,playing fantastically, Thanks, Stephen.

Stephen Lofthouse, PRS Bernie Marsden x2 (29/6/18)
Alfie Aldridge; ‘Star Sound’ Strat Copy (13/2/18)

Hi Pete, the guitar is 100 times better! Thanks so much for your help, See you soon.

Alfie Aldridge; ‘Star Sound’ Strat Copy (13/2/18)
Ernie Wells: Stevie Ray Vaughn Stratocaster

Hey Pete, how are you doing? Do you remember that SRV you set up for me? I just sold it in NZ, the guy who bought it said it was the most sublimely well set up and sounding strat he has ever played, much better than his $6,500 Suhr guitar. Thought you might like the feedback.

Ernie Wells: Stevie Ray Vaughn Stratocaster
David Turner, Telecaster

Thank you Peter Davies & Jim Wills for another amazing set up! 🙂

David Turner, Telecaster
Stuart Dixon, Baden Acoustic

Baden acoustic repaired and like new. Thanks to Dream Guitar Services 🙂

Stuart Dixon, Baden Acoustic
Stephen J Jennings Crafter PL8/N

Thank you so much for your work on the Crafter. Plays like silk now!!! Others now want it but all I’ve got to do is remenber the chord shapes and the fret spacing. Something like 9 months of ukulele has clearly fried my brain!!! Bloody brilliant job!!!!!

Stephen J Jennings Crafter PL8/N
Gawain Simons: Telecaster, Les Paul Studio, Fender 12-String

Seriously pleased with the work you’ve done on my guitars… The 12 string is stunning. The Les Paul plays the best its ever been… Can’t wait to bring the SG over for a treatment.

Gawain Simons: Telecaster, Les Paul Studio, Fender 12-String
Steve Gledhill: Epiphone hollow-body Les Paul, wider string spacing

And a damn fine job you did too, Pete! It’s a joy to play and I’ll be getting it out later.

Steve Gledhill: Epiphone hollow-body Les Paul, wider string spacing
Mark Howe: Peavey Rockingham set-up; request to set up Gretsch the same

I have a Peavey Rockingham here which came with an invoice from you for a set-up and it almost plays itself – trouble is it plays better than the new Gretsch and I can’t have that! So I guess you must be the man for the job?

Mark Howe: Peavey Rockingham set-up; request to set up Gretsch the same
Louis Deacon: Fender Stratocaster set-up

He’s a ninja. The work he did on my strat is amazing. I’ll be taking my les paul to him soon.

Louis Deacon: Fender Stratocaster set-up
Nathan Doyle, Multiple Guitars

Peter Davies has worked on all my guitars and my students’ for well over 20 years, he’s expert. The work he did on the Vigier was a thumbprint of what that guy can do!

Nathan Doyle, Multiple Guitars
Steve Gledhill: 1970s Strat set-up

You’re the guvnor as far as I’m concerned, too, Pete!

Steve Gledhill: 1970s Strat set-up
Robbo the guitar man: Assemble & set up strat

Not just a luthier, but one of the best. Keep on luthiering Pete.

Robbo the guitar man: Assemble & set up strat
Clinton Scott: Set up 3 guitars

All 3 still feel and sound beautiful. Thank you.

Clinton Scott: Set up 3 guitars
Clinton Scott: Gibson SG, Full Set-up

If Pete ain’t set your guitar up, your guitar ain’t been set up.

Clinton Scott: Gibson SG, Full Set-up
Martin Tomkins – USA Fender Stratocaster, Refret & full setup + request to salvage deeply worn frets to show his students

Peter, you’ve done an absolutely brilliant job on the guitar mate – I couldn’t wait to try it out when I got home and it’s perfect! For so long I’ve been fighting a tired guitar but now she’s an absolute pleasure to play once again! I expected a bag of old fretwire but putting them back on a fretboard for me was an unexpected surprise and a very sweet gesture for which I’m most grateful – I have no hesitation in recommending you to everyone I know. Wishing you every success with the business and a new friendship in me. Best wishes Peter x

Martin Tomkins – USA Fender Stratocaster, Refret & full setup + request to salvage deeply worn frets to show his students
Gareth Evans – Gibson Les Paul Standard with tuning problems cured by full set up with fret dress

Hi Peter. The Gibson plays lovely. A remarkable improvement. Thank you. Have a fantastic Sunday.

Gareth Evans – Gibson Les Paul Standard with tuning problems cured by full set up with fret dress
Paul Thompson – Partial set-up: lowering & shaping the nut slots on a new ‘Faith Venus’ acoustic

Peter. Thought I’d just let you know that the Faith is playing beautifully… nice job. Thank you so much!

Paul Thompson – Partial set-up: lowering & shaping the nut slots on a new ‘Faith Venus’ acoustic
Josh Brown, Charvell – Pickup & pots upgrade, loom re-wire

Hey Peter, just letting you know that the guitar is fantastic, I love it 🙂 It has so much more power to it 🙂 Thank you so much I just thought I would let you know what I think – if I need anything else in the future you will be the first to know 🙂 thanks again 🙂

Josh Brown, Charvell – Pickup & pots upgrade, loom re-wire
Sam Smith: 1970s Ibanez SG Copy – Rebuild / Conversion / Upgrade

The guitar is just wonderful. I’ve shown a few people and my brother can’t believe it. Fantastic sustain and tone. I love it, it’s like a brand new high quality guitar, I can’t put it down!

Sam Smith: 1970s Ibanez SG Copy – Rebuild / Conversion / Upgrade
Aggy, Music Market: Epiphone Explore – Broken headstock

You wouldn’t know it had been broken, I can’t even see the repair!

Aggy, Music Market: Epiphone Explore – Broken headstock
Lee Andrews: Barns & Mullins acoustic – Full Restoration

All my family were blown away by the results of your restoration, it far exceeded all our expectations and plays and sounds great!

Lee Andrews: Barns & Mullins acoustic – Full Restoration
Chris Thomas: Fender Stratocaster – Refret

The re-fret and set-up were superb, the best I have ever experienced.

Chris Thomas: Fender Stratocaster – Refret
Graham Gouldman (10cc): Fender Stratocaster – Set-up

Pete, the guitar feels great, thanks!

Graham Gouldman (10cc): Fender Stratocaster – Set-up